Department of Physics

About the Department

The Department of Physics was established in the year 1973 with only UG Physics. For the welfare of the students in and around of the Cuddalore District PG Physics course was started in 2012. All the staff members working in the department are dedicated and very active. They are actively involved in the following area of research; Spectroscopy, Material Science, Ultrasonics etc. Four students are pursuing Ph.D programme in External. The department has equipped with good infrastructure and lab equipment. M.Phil and Ph.D (FT/PT) programmes were introduced in the year Dec 2015 and it adds one more feather to the crown of the Department.


Well-equipped Laboratory for both UG and PG Courses

News and Events

So far the department has organized two one day seminars sponsored by TNSCST and TANSHE. Also one day workshop on Electrical and Electronics appliances was organized with external experts more than three times. In view of Renewable Energy Day, the department organized district level competitions in Essay writing, Poster Presentation etc. for college and school students in 2008 and 2009. Every year the department celebrating National Science Day on 28th February. Apart from the department activities, the department arranged education tour like IGCAR, SRIHARI KOTTA, BIRLA PLANETORIUM etc. Staff members are working in the department take care of students with special classes for theory and practical. Ms.S.Nagalakshmi of III Physics secured 8th Rank in the University Examinations held in April 2010. Recently Mr.A.Aravindhavel of I M.Sc Physics has been awarded BEST BOXER in the University level competitions held in November 2013 and gold medal winner in National level competition held in February 2013. In view of National Science Day, a special one day seminar and science exhibitions were organized on 28-02-2014. Dr.V.N. Sathiyanarayana, Associate Professor, Pondicherry University and Dr.S.Periyandy, Associate Professor were the invited speakers. Recently alumni of 1980-83 Physics Batch Students gathered on 5-9-2015 and honored the teachers with a special programme.
Recently Rs. 3.65 Lakhs has been sanctioned to Dr.R.Thilak Kumar under UGC Minor Research Project. Also R.15,000/- has been sanctioned for STUDENT PROJECT by TANSCHE to Mr.A.Aravindhavel.